Есть вопрос?

Существует три основных критерия для отбора в поездку:

— Эта поездка предназначена для тех, кто не очень вовлечен в жизнь еврейской общины и практически не соблюдает еврейские традиции. 

— Участницы должны иметь детей в возрасте до 18 лет.

— Участницы должны быть физически и эмоционально здоровы.

Мы допускаем отдельные исключения из правил по просьбе организаций-партнеров. Решения о принятии заявки принимаются партнерскими организациями, которые часто получают больше заявок, чем могут удовлетворить.

Могу ли я поехать в другое время, с другим городом?

Краткий ответ – нет. Необходимая составляющая поездки Momentum – создание общины в вашем городе, и с этой целью каждая партнерская организация инвестирует в каждую из своих участниц.

А если я уже бывала в Израиле?

Мы отдаем приоритет женщинам, которые никогда не бывали в Израиле или бывали в возрасте до 18 лет, однако у нас много участниц, посетивших Израиль в прошлом. Подайте заявку и свяжитесь с представителем Momentum в вашем городе, чтобы получить более подробную информацию.

Как узнать, отбирают ли в поездку женщин из моего города?

Чтобы узнать, отправляются ли в поездку участниц из вашего города, перейдите на страницу наших партнеров и посмотрите, есть ли поблизости от вас партнерская организация. В некоторых городах работают несколько партнерских организаций, которые организуют поездки Momentum разное время года.

Ожидается ли от меня еще какое-то участие после поездки?

Путешествие Momentum начинается с трех или более встреч перед поездкой, на которых участницы знакомятся друг с другом. Цель годичной программы Momentum – пробудить в участницах активный интерес к красоте еврейской жизни, помочь им ощутить прочную связь с Израилем и вызвать желание участвовать в жизни своей общины, чтобы сделать мир лучше.

Женщины, отправляющиеся в поездку Momentum, обязуются после поездки ежемесячно посещать занятия в партнерской организации. В наших партнерских организациях работают талантливые преподаватели, которые проводят ежемесячные занятия в течение года, в то время как Momentum поддерживает обмен идеями и предоставляет возможности для постоянного обучения, чтобы этот год стал для наших участниц незабываемым.

Сколько стоит поездка?

Наши участницы получают большую субсидию на это путешествие. Каждой из них выделяется стипендия в размере 3300 долларов. 80% процентов этой суммы предоставляет Momentum, и 20% – ваша партнерская организация. В сумму не включены стоимость авиабилетов, заявочный взнос в размере $99 и чаевые.

Насколько утомительна такая поездка?

В этом путешествии вас ждет много интересного – дни будут длинными и полными впечатлений. За время путешествия мы проходим 56-65 км, пешком изучаем Иерусалим, а в Цфате придется много ходить по лестницам. Все это, плюс жара на Масаде, потребует от вас много сил. Важно также помнить, что поездка будет захватывающей и может вызвать сильные эмоции, а это тоже потребует энергии.

Если вы сейчас не занимаетесь спортом, подумайте о том, чтобы выбрать программу для тренировки выносливости. Если у вас имеются какие-либо проблемы со здоровьем, обсудите маршрут со своим врачом и непременно расскажите обо всем, что вас беспокоит, руководителю общины.

Будет ли у нас время для шопинга?

Разумеется! В Иерусалиме и в Цфате масса возможностей для шопинга, и перед отъездом из Масады будет время, чтобы купить косметику Мертвого моря от фирмы «Ахава». Помните, что каждый потраченный вами доллар – это вложение в израильскую экономику.

Нужно ли покупать страховку?

Momentum оплачивает израильскую медицинскую страховку для всех участниц на все запланированное время поездки. Если участница приезжает раньше или остается в Израиле после окончания поездки, она несет ответственность за продление медицинского обслуживания за свой счет. Кроме того, всем рекомендуется иметь туристическую страховку на случай отмены поездки, необходимости ее прервать, потери или задержки багажа, задержки рейсов и т. д. За подробной информацией об обоих видах страховки обращайтесь к руководителю общины.

Какие средства связи мне понадобятся в поездке?

В целях безопасности участники обязуются быть на связи на протяжении всей поездки. Стоит заранее и самостоятельно позаботиться о подключении роуминга (проверьте у вашего провайдера, действует ли ваш тарифный план в Израиле). Необходимо обратиться к оператору, уточнить, работает ли их тарифный план в Израиле, и активировать его на всю продолжительность поездки.

Это необходимо, чтобы мы были уверены, что наши израильские сотрудники (инструкторы, координаторы поездки и др.) всегда смогут легко и быстро связаться с вами (как и вы с ними), при необходимости.

Где можно обменять деньги?

Для крупных покупок можно использовать кредитную карту, но на израильском рынке правят наличные. Здесь вы можете поторговаться — старая добрая израильская традиция. 

Самый простой способ обзавестись наличными — снять их с банковской карты в банкоматах (NIS, новые израильские шекели.) Комиссия за обмен варьируется, но не сильно. Если вы собираетесь пользоваться банкоматами, важно уведомить свой банк перед поездкой, чтобы вашу карту не заморозили при получении денег в израильском банкомате.

Кроме того, помните, что комиссия взимается при каждой операции по обналичиванию, поэтому лучше снимать реже и достаточно крупные суммы.

Как лучше упаковать вещи?

Самое главное – багаж должен быть легким. Авиакомпании очень строго следят за весом сумок и чемоданов, и перевес может стоить вам лишних денег, а главное, автобус может принять только одно большое место багажа на человека.

Одна из стратегий экономии места – договориться с другими участниками из вашего города о том, кто что берет: одна может захватить на всех средства первой помощи, другая – тайленол или ибупрофен, третья – влажные салфетки. Такие вещи, как зубная паста или фен, тоже можно взять на двоих с соседкой по комнате. Вам наверняка захочется купить сувениры – оставьте для них немного свободного места или положите в чемодан небольшую сумку, в которую сложите подарки, когда будете возвращаться домой. Чтобы узнать, что конкретно уложить в чемодан, обратитесь к руководству «Что взять с собой».

Где можно поесть в Иерусалиме в свободное время?

Список иерусалимских ресторанов вы получите в приветственном наборе, который вам вручат в начале поездки, а более подробный список можно найти на Eluna.com. Это поможет вам сориентироваться и найти что-то подходящее в любом районе, но стоит поискать самостоятельно тоже.

Будет ли у меня возможность постирать вещи в поездке?

В отелях предлагаются услуги прачечной. Стоимость указывается за единицу, оплата прямо в отеле. Некоторые участницы предпочитают захватить с собой маленькую бутылочку моющего средства и несколько прищепок, чтобы можно было выстирать одежду и повесить на ночь сушиться.

Какую защиту от солнца лучше использовать?

Даже тем, у кого темная кожа, нужна защита от летнего израильского солнца. Шляпы и солнцезащитные очки крайне необходимы. Крем с SPF не менее 25 защитит вас, если вы не будете забывать наносить его почаще в течение дня.

Будет ли там Wi-Fi?

Да! В отелях и в автобусах есть WiFi. В зависимости от отеля, WiFi может быть доступен прямо в номерах или в лобби.

В каких случаях мне может понадобиться скромная одежда?

В некоторых из мест, которые мы посещаем (например, Стена Плача / Западная стена, святые места в Цфате), женщины должны быть в рубашке с длинным рукавом и прикрыть колени и область декольте. Хотя одежда должна быть комфортной, следует учесть, что может понадобиться скромный дресс-код.

Нужно ли знать иврит, чтобы объясниться, делать покупки в магазине, заказать еду и т.д.?

Нет, не нужно. Большинство израильтян говорит как минимум по-английски, и некоторые владеют им превосходно. Но, конечно, если выучить пару фраз, путешествие пройдет веселее.

Где можно будет хранить ценные вещи?

Паспорт и деньги следует всегда иметь при себе, а другие ценности можно оставить в сейфе отеля. Вряд ли стоит брать с собой много дорогих вещей. Помните: Израиль – страна повседневного стиля, и в поездке не планируются мероприятия, требующие дорогих украшений.

Choose your Journey

For Jewish mothers with children age 18* and under

FREE (excl. airfare)

Each woman receives a $3700 scholarship

Partner organization contributes $700 per woman

The Israeli Government contributes $700 per woman

To participate in the Momentum Year-Long Journey, women must live in close proximity to a Partner Organization. See our partners list here. Please notify your Community Leader with any updates to your application

*For 2021, applicants may have children ages 21 and under to participate

APPLY NOW

Mainly for the husbands of Momentum sisters

$900 for Momentum husbands

Each man get a scholarship of $2,100-$2,400

Partner Organization contributes $700 per man

The Israeli Government does not contribute to the Men’s Trips

To participate, men must live in close proximity to a Partner Organization. See our partners list here. Please notify your Community Leader with any updates to your application

APPLY NOW

Mothers of Lone Soldiers

Upcoming Trip: July 5, 2021

FREE (excl. airfare)

Each woman gets a $3,700 scholarship

Frequently Asked Questions

APPLY NOW

Momentum Grand

Upcoming Trip: November 2-8, 2021

Land Package Cost: $5,500/person in double room; $1,500 Single Supplement

APPLY NOW

APPLY

Have a Question?

FAQ’s

There are three primary qualifications to go on the trip:

This trip is designed for people who are not highly engaged in the Jewish community or Jewish ritual observance.
Our participants must have children at home under the age of 18.
Participants must be physically and emotionally healthy.
We do grant occasional exceptions to our eligibility rules when applied for by a partner on behalf of the participant.
Acceptance decisions are made by the individual Partner Organizations who often receive more applications than they have scholarships available.

Can I come on a different date with a different city?

The short answer is “No.” A vital part of the Momentum experience is creating community at home, with women in your city and each Partner Organization invests in each of its participants to make this happen.

What if I have already been to Israel?

We give priority to women who have never been to Israel, or who visited before they turned 18, but many of our participants have visited Israel in the past. Apply and speak to your city leader for more details.

How do I find out if women from my city are going?

To learn whether there’s a trip leaving from your city, go to our Partners page and see if there is a Partner Organization near you. Some cities have multiple Partner Organizations with Momentum experiences leaving at different times of the year.

Are there any expectations after the trip?

The Momentum experience begins with three or more Pre-Trip meetings connecting the women to each other and to Israel before the Trip. The year-long Momentum experience is designed to activate enthusiastic engagement with the beauty of Jewish life, to build a lasting connection with Israel, and a commitment to take action in one’s community towards making a better world.
Women attending the Momentum trips commit to attending a follow-up session once per month with the organization that accepts them Our Partner Organizations have talented educators who lead the monthly sessions throughout the year while Momentum supports the sharing of ideas and provides continuing education to make the year-long experience memorable for our participants.

What does the trip cost?

For our participants, this is a heavily subsidized trip.  Each participant on our women’s trip receives a $3,300 scholarship, 80% provided by Momentum and 20% provided by your Partner Organization. It does not include airfare, a $99 acceptance fee or tips.

How strenuous is the trip?

This experience has a lot packed into it—the days are long and full of activity: We walk 35–40 miles on the trip, explore Jerusalem on foot, and climb a lot of steps in Tsfat. All this and just being out in the heat on Masada require a fair amount of effort. It’s also important to remember that the trip is exciting and can bring up a lot of emotions, and this will affect your energy level.
If you don’t currently exercise, consider beginning a program to increase your stamina. If you have any health problems, consult your physician about the itinerary, and make sure to discuss any concerns with your Community Leader.

Is there time to shop?

Of course! There are many opportunities to shop in Jerusalem, and in Tsfat, and time to purchase Ahava Dead Sea products before leaving Masada. Remember, every dollar you spend infuses capital into the Israeli economy.

Do I need to purchase insurance?

Momentum purchases Israeli health insurance for all participants during the scheduled trip dates. If a participant arrives early or stays after the Trip, they are responsible for extending the health coverage at their own expense. In addition, Travelers Insurance is recommended for all participants in case of trip cancellation, trip interruption, lost/delayed baggage, flight delays, and more. Contact your Community Leader for details about both.

Where do I pick up my cell phone?

If you ordered a cell phone and live in the US, your phone will be delivered to you about a week before departure. If you live outside the US, you will receive your phone before you board the bus at the airport. It will be fully charged and ready to go.

Where can I exchange money?

For large purchases, you can use your credit card, but in the shuks (local markets), cash is king, and will allow you to haggle for a better price—a time-honored tradition in Israel!
The easiest way to get cash is to use your bank card at an ATM. (NIS, New Israeli Shekels). The fees will vary, but not by much. If you choose to use ATMs, it’s vital that you notify your bank before the trip to avoid your card being frozen by ATM transactions in Israel.
Also, remember that fees are charged per transaction, so you should take out larger quantities less frequently.

How can I pack most efficiently?

Packing light is key: The airlines are very strict about the weight of bags and going over can cost you extra and, more importantly, the buses can only handle ONE large bag per person.
One strategy to save space is to coordinate with other participants from your city to share the burden of communal items—one person can bring enough first aid supplies to share, one can bring Tylenol or Ibuprofen, one can bring Handi-wipes. Pairing up with your roommate to share items like toothpaste or a hair dryer also helps. You will want to buy souvenirs, so save a little extra space, or throw in an extra, small duffle bag into your suitcase for gifts to bring back home. Please see our “What to Pack” guide for specific packing suggestions.

Where should I eat in Jerusalem on my free time?

We will provide a list of restaurants in Jerusalem in your welcome packet you receive at the beginning of your Trip, or you can see a longer list at Eluna.com. They will definitely give you an idea of what is available in certain areas, but you should also explore on your own!

Will I be able to do laundry on the trip?

The hotels offer laundry services. The cost is per item and you pay the hotel directly. Some participants like to bring a small bottle of detergent and a few clothespins to wash out clothing and hang overnight.

What kind of sun protection is best?

Even people with dark-toned skin will need protection in Israel’s summer sun. Hats and sunglasses are a necessity. A sunblock with an SPF of at least 25 will protect you, as long as you reapply often during the day.

Is there WiFi?

Yes! There is WiFi in the hotels and on the buses. Depending upon the hotel, WiFi may be available in guest rooms, or in the lobby.

When do I need to dress modestly?

Some of the places we visit (such as the Kotel/Western Wall, holy sites in Tsfat) require women to wear shirts with sleeves and cover their knees and cleavage. While you want to dress comfortably at all times, it is important to be prepared to dress more modestly at times.

Do I need to know Hebrew to be able to get around, shop, order food, etc.?

No, you do not. Most Israelis speak at least some English, some speak it quite well. Picking up a few phrases can make the trip more fun, though.

Where can I keep my valuables?

Keep your passport and money with you at all times, but all other valuables can be left in hotel safes. You may not want to bring many valuable items. Remember: Israel is a casual country, and your trip doesn’t include occasions where fancy jewelry is needed.

THIS WEBSITE WAS CREATED IN LOVING MEMORY OF RITA KRAKOWER MARGOLIS

Choose your Journey

For Jewish mothers with children under the age of 18.

FREE (excl. airfare)

Each woman gets a $3,300 scholarship.

Partner Organizations contribute $700 per woman.

The Israeli Government contributes $700 per woman

To participate in the Momentum Year-Long Journey, women must live in close proximity to a Partner Organization. See our partners list here. Please notify your Community Leader with any updates to your application.

APPLY NOW

Mainly for the husbands of Momentum sisters.

$900
for Momentum husbands.

$1,200
For all other men.

To participate, men must live in close proximity to a Partner Organization. See our partners list here. Please notify your Community Leader with any updates to your application.

APPLY NOW

Subscribe to Momentum's mailing list

* indicates required